Apply for
Summer/Fall
2016
Logo for Print

Campus Clubs

Contact
  • Share
    • Email
Slide: Robotics is one of many clubs

Robotics is one of many clubs

Campus clubs are a way for students to connect with other students on campus that share similar interests. Clubs are able to use all the resources of the Associated Students, such as campus facilities, Associated Student funding, and much more! Being part of a club is a great way to find a place to belong and have fun on campus.

Nothing here that interests you? Forming your own club is simple! Find out how to make a new club by stopping by the Campus Life Office (J7, next to cafeteria).

Nevada County Campus Clubs are listed on their web page.

Active Clubs

American Medical Student Association

Advisor, Shaunveer Chima, schima1@sierracollege.edu

American Sign Language

Advisor: Rachel Gerlis       rgerlis@sierracollege.edu

American Welding Society

Advisor: Bill Wenzel bwenzel@sierracollege.edu

Astronomy

Advisor: David Dunn ddunn@sierracollege.edu

To increase interest in Astronomy both from students and surrounding community members in the various activities that Sierra College has to offer.

Automotive

Advisor: Alex Wong awong@sierracollege.edu

To educate students about the automobile industry, club projects and enrich student’s knowledge.

Badminton

Advisor, Rob Willson, rwillson@sierracollege.edu and Linda Belton, lbelton@sierracollege.edu

Beyond Diversity

Advisor: Jennifer Kattman, jkattman@sierracollege.edu

Business

Advisors: Anne Diamond, adiamond@sierracollege.edu and Jeff Jurach, jjurach@sierracollege.edu

Chem

Advisors: Rhiannon Porter, rporter@sierracollege.edu and Sue Kurnett, skurnett@sierracollege.edu

CHOICES (Connecting Health Options, Individual Choices and Educational Services)

Nevada County Campus

Advisor: Joe Cavanaugh, jcavanaugh@sierracollege.edu

Computer Engineering

Advisor: Barry Brown, bbrown@sierracollege.edu

Drama

Advisor: Scott Adams, sadams14@sierracollege.edu

Dream

Advisor: Sandi Escobar, sescobar@sierracollege.edu

Early Childhood Education (ECE)

Advisors: Debra Eastman, deastman@sierracollege.edu and Shelly Boucher, mboucher@sierracollege.edu and Lori Kearney, lcapaul@sierracollege.edu

Economics

Advisor, Michael Mace, mmace@sierracollege.edu

Environmentally Concerned Organization of Students (ECOS)

Advisor: Shawna Martinez, smartinez@sierracollege.edu

ECOS
To provide environmental advocacy, sustainability and stewardship.

We meet every Wednesday at 5:00 in S110

Evidence Bible

Advisor: Dan Knepp dknepp@sierracollege.edu

Fashion

Advisors: Diane Higashi, dhigashi@sierracollege.edu and Kellie Schulz, kschulz@sierracollege.edu

Feminist Action

French

Advisor: Laurence Lambert   llambert@sierracollege.edu

To increase awareness of, and participation in, the French-speaking community – locally as well as around the globe. We achieve this goal through regular meetings and planned events that connect students and faculty with the culture and language of the francophone world. Our philosophy is defined by the “Three Fs” (fun, friendship, and French), and everything we do as a club reflects these values.

Grace and Truth

Advisor: Ron Morris rmorris8@sierracollege.edu

To teach the Bible to college students through the dissemination of biblical literature, personal and group contact and study of the biblical text.

Humanities

Advisor: Jason File, jfile@sierracollege.edu

Intervarsity Christian Fellowship

Advisor: Walt Walczykowski, wwalczyzykowski@sierracollege.edu and Randy Snook rsnook@sierracollege.edu and Sue Kurnett skurnett@sierracollege.edu

To establish and advance at Sierra College a witnessing community of students and faculty who follow Jesus as Savior and Lord: growing in love for God, God’s Word, God’s people of every ethnicity and culture, and God’s purpose in the world.

KSCM

Advisor: Nicholas Zoffel, nzoffel@sierracollege.edu

Math

Advisor: Dan Balaguy, dbalaguy@sierracollege.edu

Meditation, Consciousness, and Lucid Dreams

Advisor, Richard Valdez   rvaldez@sierracollege.edu

Microbiology

Advisor, Laura Brahce lbrahce@sierracollege.edu and Warren Place, wplace@sierracollege.edu

Model U.N.

Advisor: Michael Deaver, mdeaver@sierracollege.edu

Music

Advisor: Greg McLaughlin, gmclaughlin@student.sierracollege.edu

To create an environment that will allow musicians a place to promote collaborations and constructive criticism.

Native American

Advisor: Matt Archer, marcher@sierracollege.edu Also: Tamara Cheshire, tcheshire1@sierracollege.edu

“During the fall semester, I wasn’t aware of any Native American events or organizations on campus, but during the spring semester I learned about the Native American club (through an outreach e-mail by Matt Archer) and I started going to that and felt very welcomed.  Before, I felt like there was no one else like me and as if there wasn’t a place for me, but learning about the club has been a huge help."  —Muscogee Creek, First Year

“I LOVE having the support of the Native American Club! I feel like I’m not alone. Especially speaking with other N.A. students who are in the process of finding their native identities. Having the support of native staff & students is amazing!” —Choctaw, Cherokee, & Celtic

Philosophy

Advisor: Edward Haven   ehaven@sierracollege.edu

To encourage students to join others like them in exploring personal philosophy and working together to spread them into our community.

Phi Theta Kappa

Advisor: Tim Haenny thaenny@sierracollege.edu

The promotion of scholarship, the development of leadership and service and cultivation of fellowship among qualified students at Sierra College.

Political Science

Advisor: Michael Deaver, mdeaver@sierracollege.edu

To see that Sierra College becomes an environment of students that are politically concerned.

Programming and Software Engineering

Advisor: Tim McGowen. Email: tmcgowen@sierracollege.edu

Project Unity

Advisor, Tanya Times, ttimes@sierracollege.edu

Psychology

Advisors: Robin Akawi rakawi@sierracollege.edu and Mieke San Julian msanjulian@sierracollege.edu

Public Safety

Advisor: Matthew Jewett, mjewett@sierracollege.edu and Corey Morgan, cmorgan7@sierracollege.edu

Puente

Club web page. Advisor: Reyes Ortega   reyesortega@sierracollege.edu

To foster leadership development through the coordination of educational and awareness projects thru mentoring and roundtable discussions.

Rainbow Alliance

Advisor: Johnnie Terry   jterry@sierracollege.edu and Stephanie Coday  scoday@sierracollege.edu

Supports activism, support groups, social activities and/or tolerance and education.

Robotics

Advisor: Tony Osladil  tosladil@sierracollege.edu

To promote the study and provide hands-on experience in the field of robotics by designing and building functional robots. Our main focus will be on participating in robot competitions and educating our members in all of the underlying technologies.

Rotaract

Advisor: Todd Jensen        tjensen@sierracollege.edu

Secular Student Alliance

Advisor, Rebecca Quinn   rquinn@sierracollege.edu

The Secular Student Alliance empowers secular students to proudly express their identity, build welcoming communities, promote secular values, and set a course for lifelong activism.

We envision a future in which secular students lead meaningful and fulfilling lives, thrive as valued members of society, and provide visionary leadership committed to humanistic ideals and critical inquiry.

Sierra International Life

Advisor: Ted Saur   tsaur@sierracollege.edu

To assist and support international and ESL students who are living in a new culture.  The club also facilitates TalkTimes and activities where multicultural students have the opportunities to interact with other students, make the most of their academic years in the USA, and have opportunities to work in a group and practice leadership.

Sierra Outdoor Recreation

Advisor, Richard Valdez   rvaldez@sierracollege.edu

Promotes awareness, education, and participation with the natural environment in group settings.

Student Nurses Association

Advisor: Sabina Karr, skarr@sierracollege.edu

To collaborate as future and existing registered nurses, to convey standards, ethics, and skills needed as responsible, accountable and committed leaders and members of the profession. Service: serve communities local & abroad.  Collaboration: collaborate educationally and professionally, as classmates, with faculty, and as nurses with various organizations within our communities. Leadership: develop leaders in nursing ethically, socially, educationally and politically.

Students Against Poverty

Advisor: Christian Jardine, cjardine@sierracollege.edu 

Students for Life

Advisor: Michael Mace, mmace@sierracollege.edu

Sustainable Ag Society

Advisor: Patti Kiehl pkiehl@sierracollege.edu and Kurt Voigt kvoigt@sierracollege.edu

Veteran Cadre

Advisor: Blake Rood, brood@sierracollege.edu

Wolverettes Dance

Advisor: Tanya Times, ttimes@sierracollege.edu

Yoga

Advisor, Janet Rankin, jrankin5@sierracollege.edu

Young Americans for Liberty

Advisor: Michael Mace, mmace@sierracollege.edu

To access an extension you may dial:

  • Rocklin Campus: (916) 624-3333
  • Nevada County Campus: (530) 274-5300

If you have additional questions, drop by the Campus Life Office (J-7) or call (916) 660-7380.

All clubs are located at the Rocklin Campus unless noted diferrently.

Contact

  • Image Location: J 7
  • J 7
  • 5000 Rocklin Rd.
    Rocklin, CA 95677
  • Fall and Spring M-Th: 8:30am - 5:00pm
  • (916) 660-7380
  • (916) 630-4514

Timothy Haenny Campus Life Coordinator

  • J 71
  • 5000 Rocklin Rd.
    Rocklin, CA 95677

Carol Hartzell Administrative Assistant, Campus Life

  • J 7
  • 5000 Rocklin Rd.
    Rocklin, CA 95677
  • Image Location: N5 104
  • N5 104
  • 250 Sierra College Dr.
    Grass Valley, CA 95945

Latest Update

Please enable Javascript to see the latest facebook update.

Featured Video