Apply for
Fall
2014
Logo for Print

Campus Clubs

Contact
  • Share
    • Email
Slide:

Campus clubs are a way for students to connect with other students on campus that share similar interests. Clubs are able to use all the resources of the Associated Students, such as campus facilities, Associated Student funding, and much more! Being part of a club is a great way to find a place to belong and have fun on campus.

Nothing here that interests you? Forming your own club is simple! Find out how to make a new club by stopping by the Campus Life Office (J7, next to cafeteria).

Nevada County Campus Clubs are listed on their web page.

Active Clubs

American Medical Student Association

Advisor: Sigismund Pikul

To promote, encourage and provide membership services for physicians-in-training. To seek, develop and provide membership services to the physicians-in-training community. To provide members with up to date accurate information regarding required courses, application processes and transfer agreements for premedical students. To provide informal tutoring and premedical student related coursework assistance.  To seek out and provide volunteer opportunities in relevant clinical and healthcare settings. Contact us at: amsa.sc.chapter@gmail.com Follow us on Facebook

American Sign Language

Advisor: Bobbi Long, bobbilong@sierracollege.edu

To promote the use of ASL and bring Deaf Culture events to the Sierra Campus.

American Welding Society

Advisor: Bill Wenzel bwenzel@sierracollege.edu

Arts and Engineering

Advisor: Steven Gillete   sgillete@sierracollege.edu

Astronomy

Advisor: David Dunn ddunn@sierracollege.edu

To increase interest in Astronomy both from students and surrounding community members in the various activities that Sierra College has to offer.

Autism Youth Ambassadors

Advisors: 

Lori Kearney Copal lcopaul@sierracollege.edu

Sonia Klenner sklenner@sierracollege.edu

Automotive

Advisor: Alex Wong awong@sierracollege.edu

To educate students about the automobile industry, club projects and enrich student’s knowledge.

Beyond Diversity

Advisor: Jennifer Kattman jkattman@sierracollege.edu

Black Campus Ministry

Advisor: Shaeehea Hollis-Sachau shollis@sierracollege.edu

Business

Advisor: Elaine Bienvenue             ebienvenue@sierracollege.edu

C-3

Advisor, Susie Le sle@sierracollege.edu

Chess

Advisor: Sankar Srivatsa                  ssrivatsa@sierracollege.edu

CHOICES (Connecting Health Options, Individual Choices and Educational Services)

Nevada County Campus

Advisor: Joe Cavanaugh, jcavanaugh@sierracollege.edu

Creative Minds

Advisor: Kent Fortin   kfortin@sierracollege.edu

D-20

Advisor: Josh Breese,  jbreese@sierracollege.edu

Dance

Advisor: Margaret Williams, mwilliams@sierracollege.edu

Drama

Advisor: Michael Hunter mhunter@sierracollege.edu

To promote the appreciation of the dramatic arts.

Dream

Advisor: Aracely Ruiz aruiz@sierracollege.edu

Economics

Advisor, Michael Mace, mmace@sierracollege.edu

Environmentally Concerned Organization of Students (ECOS)

Advisor: Krissy Gilbert kgilbert@sierracollege.edu

ECOS
To provide environmental advocacy, sustainability and stewardship.

We meet every Wednesday at 5:00 in S110

Evidence Bible

Advisor: Barbara Nelson-Burns bnelson-burns@sierracollege.edu

Fashion

Feminist Majority Leadership Alliance

Advisor: Kathleen Taylor ktaylor@sierracollege.edu Also: lmedeiros@sierracollege.edu

To bring awareness of what women’s studies is by breaking down the stigmatism. To increase the voice of women’s issues on a global perspective. And to bring in a community of students that support addressing women’s issues and taking action.

French

Advisor: Laurence Lambert   llambert@sierracollege.edu

To increase awareness of, and participation in, the French-speaking community – locally as well as around the globe. We achieve this goal through regular meetings and planned events that connect students and faculty with the culture and language of the francophone world. Our philosophy is defined by the “Three Fs” (fun, friendship, and French), and everything we do as a club reflects these values.

Future Business Leaders of America

Advisor: Jay Kesler, jkesler@sierracollege.edu

Future Firefighters/EMT’s

Advisor: David Sinclair dsinclair@sierracollege.edu

Future Teachers

Advisor: Aimee Myers, amyers@sierracollege.edu

GAMA

Advisor, Rebecca Kyler, rkyler@sierracollege.edu

To promote art of animation, manga, and gaming.

Geology

Advisor: Holly Dodson   hdodson@sierracollege.edu

Grace and Truth

Advisor: Ron Morris rmorris8@sierracollege.edu

To teach the Bible to college students through the dissemination of biblical literature, personal and group contact and study of the biblical text.

ILP Algebra

Advisor: Jill Rafael jrafeal@sierracollege.edu

To provide math tutoring for “math anxious” Sierra College Alegbra students. To support tutoring in the ILP Program and help student understand the need to succeed in mathematics.

International

Advisor: Kristin Lopez, kkawada@sierracollege.edu

Intervarsity Christian Fellowship

Advisor: Dan Burns dburns@sierracollege.edu Also: wwalczyzykowski@sierracollege.edu

To establish and advance at Sierra College a witnessing community of students and faculty who follow Jesus as Savior and Lord: growing in love for God, God’s Word, God’s people of every ethnicity and culture, and God’s purpose in the world.

Latter Day Saints Student Association

Advisor: Nichole Carrier,  ncarrier@sierracollege.edu

Math

Advisor: Charles Buchwald cbuchwald@sierracollege.edu  also Dan Balaguy  dbalaguy@sierracollege.edu

Microbiology

Advisor, Sasha Warren  swarren@sierracollege.edu

Music

Advisor: Sarah Cunningham scunningham@sierracollege.edu

To create an environment that will allow musicians a place to promote collaborations and constructive criticism.

Native American

Advisor: Matt Archer marcher@sierracollege.edu Also: Joe Medeiros jmedeiros@sierracolleg.edu

Nutrition on a Mission

Advisor: Mithia Mukutmoni   mmukutmoni@sierracollege.edu   Also Clare Dendinger   cdendinger@sierracollege.edu

To promote nutrition awareness and healthful eating practices to the Sierra College community.

Persian

Advisor: Beth Ervin bervin@sierracollege.edu

Phi Beta Lamdba

Advisor: Christy Magnani, cmagnani1@sierracollege.edu

Philosophy

Advisor: Edward Haven   ehaven@sierracollege.edu

To encourage students to join others like them in exploring personal philosophy and working together to spread them into our community.

Phi Theta Kappa

Advisor: Rachel Purdie, rpurdie@sierracollege.edu

The promotion of scholarship, the development of leadership and service and cultivation of fellowship among qualified students at Sierra College.

Physics and Engineering

Advisor: Phillip Pattengale    ppattengale@sierracollege.edu

Political Science

Advisor: Winsome Jackson wjackson@sierracollege.edu

To see that Sierra College becomes an environment of students that are politically concerned, by hosting various events such as; forums, debates, guest speakers, and providing information petrtaining to upcoming local, state and federal government elections.

Pre- Pharmacy

Advisor: Keri Muma kmuma@sierracollege.edu

Project Unity

Advisor: Shaeehea Hollis-Sachau shollis@sierracollege.edu

Psychology

Advisor: Robert Lennartz rlennartz@sierracollege.edu

Puente

Club web page. Advisor: Reyes Ortega   reyesortega@sierracollege.edu

To foster leadership development through the coordination of educational and awareness projects thru mentoring and roundtable discussions.

Rainbow Alliance

Advisor: Johnnie Terry   jterry@sierracollege.edu

Supports activism, support groups, social activities and/or tolerance and education.

Robotics

Advisor: Tony Osladil  tosladil@sierracollege.edu

To promote the study and provide hands-on experience in the field of robotics by designing and building functional robots. Our main focus will be on participating in robot competitions and educating our members in all of the underlying technologies.

Science

Advisor: Kim Stevens, kstevens@sierracollege.edu

Secular Student Alliance

Advisor: Rebecca Quinn, rquinn@sierracollege.edu

Sierra International Life

Advisor: Ted Saur   tsaur@sierracollege.edu

To assist and support international and ESL students who are living in a new culture.  The club also facilitates TalkTimes and activities where multicultural students have the opportunities to interact with other students, make the most of their academic years in the USA, and have opportunities to work in a group and practice leadership.

Sierra Outdoor Recreation

Advisor, Richard Valdez   rvaldez@sierracollege.edu

Promotes awareness, education, and participation with the natural environment in group settings.

Student Nurses Association (Roseville Gateway)

Advisor: Sabina Pokorney

To collaborate as future and existing registered nurses, to convey standards, ethics, and skills needed as responsible, accountable and committed leaders and members of the profession. Service: serve communities local & abroad.  Collaboration: collaborate educationally & professionally, as classmates, with faculty, and as nurses with various organizations within our communities. Leadership: develop leaders in nursing ethically, socially, educationally and politically.

Students for Liberty

Advisor: Michael Mace   mmace@sierracollege.edu

Students Taking on Poverty

Advisor: Jason File

To advocate and promote awareness of poverty and its effect on society. To be a resource for students interested n volunteering/service projects, advocacy and awareness events globally, nationally and in our state and local communities.

Sustainable Ag Society

Advisor: Patti Kiehl pkiehl@sierracollege.edu

Tactical Philanthrophy

Advisor: Lisa Rochford, lrochford@sierracollege.edu

Tutoring

Advisor: Janet Riswold   jriswold@sierracollege.edu  Also Jenny Longmire jlongmire@sierracollege.edu

Veteran Cadre

Advisor, Nick Zoffel, nzoffel@sierracollege.edu

Veterans Business

Advisor: Tom Read, tread@sierracollege.edu

Yoga

Advisor: Janet Rankin krankin@sierracollege.edu

To access an extension you may dial:

  • Rocklin Campus: (916) 624-3333
  • Nevada County Campus: (530) 274-5300

If you have additional questions, drop by the Campus Life Office (J-7) or call (916) 660-7380.

All clubs are located at the Rocklin Campus unless noted diferrently.

Contact

  • Image Location: J 7
  • J 7
  • 5000 Rocklin Rd.
    Rocklin, CA 95677
  • Fall and Spring M-Th: 8:30am - 5:00pm
  • (916) 660-7380
  • (916) 630-4514

Timothy Haenny Campus Life Coordinator

  • J 71
  • 5000 Rocklin Rd.
    Rocklin, CA 95677

Carol Hartzell Administrative Assistant, Campus Life

  • J 7
  • 5000 Rocklin Rd.
    Rocklin, CA 95677
  • Image Location: N5 104
  • N5 104
  • 250 Sierra College Dr.
    Grass Valley, CA 95945

Latest Update

Please enable Javascript to see the latest facebook update.

Featured Video